Apartment Guide
  1. Home
  2. Virginia
  3. Norfolk
  4. Pinewood Gardens Apartments
(757) 849-0355
Military
$ Rent Specials

Pinewood Gardens Apartments

1 Bed$755–$950
2 Beds$845–$1,070
3 Beds$1,125–$1,190

Floor Plans & Pricing

The Orchid
1 Bed1 Bath
$755–$910835+ sqft
Sep 03
G66014
$895
Bottom floor
835 sqft
1 Bed1 Bath
Sep 03
G64122
$895
Bottom floor
835 sqft
1 Bed1 Bath
Oct 17
H51324
$895
Bottom floor
835 sqft
1 Bed1 Bath
Oct 19
I62312
$895
Bottom floor
835 sqft
1 Bed1 Bath
Oct 23
The Azalea
2 Beds1 Bath
$845–$1,000995+ sqft
Sep 14
G81321
$1000
Bottom floor
995 sqft
2 Beds1 Bath
Sep 14
L80814
$1000
Bottom floor
995 sqft
2 Beds1 Bath
Sep 20
H33721
$985
Bottom floor
995 sqft
2 Beds1 Bath
Sep 26
H70321
$1000
Bottom floor
995 sqft
2 Beds1 Bath
Oct 03
G64512
$1000
Bottom floor
995 sqft
2 Beds1 Bath
Oct 18
The Azalea
2 Beds1 Bath
$845–$1,000995+ sqft
Sep 19
H60314
$935
Bottom floor
995 sqft
2 Beds1 Bath
Sep 19
G64421
$935
Bottom floor
995 sqft
2 Beds1 Bath
Oct 17
The Hydrangea
3 Beds1.5 Bath
$1,125–$1,1401115+ sqft
Jan 11
H71212
$1125
Bottom floor
1115 sqft
3 Beds1.5 Bath
Jan 11
The Orchid
1 Bed1 Bath
$755–$860835+ sqft
Contact
The Camellia
1 Bed1 Bath
$885–$900878+ sqft
Contact
The Camellia
1 Bed1 Bath
$885–$950878+ sqft
Contact
The Hibiscus
2 Beds1 Bath
$1,005–$1,0701038+ sqft
Contact
The Hibiscus
2 Beds1 Bath
$1,005–$1,0201038+ sqft
Contact
The Hydrangea
3 Beds1.5 Bath
$1,125–$1,1901115+ sqft
Contact
Prices, specials, features and availability subject to change.

Move-in Specials

Select Homes: $500 off with a 12 month lease* $100 Security Deposit with approved credit* Waived admin fee if deposit within 24 hours of first tour* All University students only: Waived short term fee with a 6 month lease* *Restrictions may apply

Take advantage of this fantastic offer today!

(757) 849-0355

Ratings & Reviews

Review
Pinewood Gardens Apartments

Select a star to begin your review.
Overall Ratings
(95 Ratings)

56 Reviews for Pinewood Gardens Apartments

Sort By:
Default

My lease ended June of 2019. I have not lived at Pinewood Gardens since April 2019. However, I continued to pay my rent, utilities, and renter's insurance just as if I were occupying the space. On July 1st, I logged in to pay my remaining utilities which were not much since I had not occupied this space since early April 2019. I saw the amount due increased by approximately $25 and was told this was for not having renter's insurance up until June 30 since my policy ended on the 29th. I called the office multiple times and everyone failed to answer my call and no one responded to my voicemail I left on the 29th as well. Kiana (leasing agent) advised it is not their responsibility to let me know I need to have insurance up until the 30th and I should have read my lease. I requested to speak with Hudson who did not try to offer me any assistance. Please keep in mind that I advised the staff that I just gave birth in June and was in the hospital. I am still on disability at this time and even under these circumstances did anyone try to work with me. This is why I tried contacting the staff by phone to address these issues. THERE ARE 6 OTHER INSTANCES BUT I ONLY LISTED MY LAST ENCOUNTER. PLEASE AVOID THIS PROPERTY. MANAGEMENT AND LEASING AGENTS HORRIBLE!

07-01-2019

Was this helpful?
Thank you for your review. All comments and concerns are important to me. Please allow me the opportunity to clear up any misunderstanding you may have regarding the twenty-five dollar noncompliance fee for renters insurance. Renters insurance is monitored and billed by an external agency. Please keep in mind that until you turn in keys, the apartment is considered occupied and all rules and policies remain in effect. If I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to phone me at (757) 588-8771.
Sincerely, Pinewood Gardens Business Manager

07-08-2019

me and my husband have been here since January , and so far we love it. he is in the Navy and the base he works at is about 10 mins from here which is awesome. even being in traffic for 30 mins we still make it on time. the land scaping is beautiful , I got very blessed with quite , friendly neighbors. when it comes to your neighbors, that's a hit or miss. the amount for the rent on a 1 bedroom is a little pricey in my opinion but , you get what you're paying for. I'm not a big fan on how strict they are and how many rules there are, BUT they have them for a reason and I personally also enjoy it at the same time because it keeps it clean, nice, organized etc. I've never had a bug problem I have had maybe 3 bugs in my apartment ONLY because my windows were open. I've had to call maintnence a hanful of times to fix some things in the apartment , I think it was just wear and tear type of thing and they always made sure to and fix it and it was always done properly and typically got to my issue within a week. the only other thing I don't like is how the utility is added onto the rent it just makes the rent more exspensive and is causing us to struggle but we manage. all in all, so far I give this place a 9/10 for the few months we've been here. any problems ive had have been resolved properly and professionally. I love the staff. and I really enjoy staying here.

06-25-2019

Was this helpful?
Thank you for your Pinewood residency. We appreciate the very helpful feedback and terrific five-star review! Please don't ever hesitate to call us in the office if we might be of assistance. Thanks again!

07-01-2019

They have the most annoying rules that they will stick you to following, including getting in trouble for having a small cooler sit on your patio/balcony. They will get every last penny out of you they can and they will be rude while doing it. My favorite is the passive aggressiveness towards their residents. Instead of calling you or emailing while something is wrong, they calmly place a letter for you at your door and if you catch them while they are doing it, they get flummoxed and do not know what to say because they do not want to have an open conversation with you. I've lived her for almost two years now and I can honestly say I can not wait to leave. I would not tell my least favorite person on the planet to live her.

06-13-2019

Was this helpful?
Your comments and concerns are very important to me. I apologize for any confusion regarding our lease and policies. I would like the opportunity to meet and discuss our policies pertaining to patios and balconies; however, without a name I am unable to personally reach out to you. The letter you mentioned is a courtesy letter sent to residents as a reminder. In the meantime if you would refer to your signed rules and regulations, you will find the permissible items. Please feel free to call me so we can further discuss your concerns. I can be reached at (757) 588-8771. Sincerely, Pinewood Gardens Business Manager

06-17-2019

Getting a $50 discount and not spending your entire BAH sounds attractive but it's not worth it moving here. The manager is dishonest. The place wasn't clean when we moved in, it smelled. There was an infestation of spiders. The plumbing lines were backed up twice, poop from my neighbors toilet came over to our toilet multiple times. Squirrels run through the ceiling. A squirrel or rat came through the wall into our kitchen cabinet, 3 days later maintenance came out to put down glue traps. Maintenance caulked 1 small hole under there and left the biggest untouched. I called for another maintenance who caulked every hole that we could see and said he doesn't understand why the 1st guy didn't do it. There's an invasion of crickets, imagine relaxing and all of a sudden see something hoping through your place. Oh and there is poop everywhere. No one picks up after there pet. Your children will not be able to play on the playgrounds without stepping in poop. You will not be able to walk on the grass and sometimes sidewalk without stepping in poop. Maintenance left poop for 2 days just sitting in front of the glass doors that we have to walk in and out of throughout the day. The 1 bathroom are very tiny. No lights in the bedroom, you will have to use lamps. It takes days or weeks for maintenance to fix anything. You have to have a topload washer/dryet to use their hook up. I have never been so miserable in my life. I can't wait for this lease to end. This experience was a complete disaster. I advise anyone to just go ahead and put 2 or $300 more dollars together and fine somewhere nice to live. Somewhere clean and comfortable or just stay in Military Housing or consider Chesapeake or Virginia Beach. You get what you pay for. This $950 was the worst thing ever

04-26-2019

Was this helpful?
Since all concerns are very important to me, I thank you for your perspective on living at Pinewood. Most of our residents love living here so much that they stay for several years, and I was disheartened that your residency was not equally as pleasant. While my staff and I cannot control the behavior of others, we can control our own efficiency and quality of service, including the ways in which we handle infractions of rules meant to create a delightful community for all. Therefore, I will be reviewing your records to see if there is anything we could have done differently on our end to make your stay more satisfactory. The Rental Partnership Program is a very successful program dedicated to assisting our military service members. It is important to understand the program fully because if the procedures are not properly followed, penalties can result. I am always happy to meet with residents or prospective residents to go over the particulars of taking advantage of the RPP. Pinewood Gardens offers free pest control to all of our residents and we will retreat homes if deemed necessary. It is only fair to others sharing in the enjoyment of the grounds that our residents clean up after their furry family members, so I will make sure all members of our team know to pay even closer attention to the area you mentioned in your review. Please feel welcome to reach out to our leasing office directly at (757) 588-8771 if you would like to take some time and talk through your concerns in detail. I would welcome the opportunity to learn from your experience to make this an even more wonderful community for current and future residents. Sincerely, Pinewood Gardens Business Manager

05-01-2019

They have me staying in this hot apartment ...which i was called earlier while i was at work and told they cut the air line because it was frozen I said I advised I cut it on the other night because it was hot and it won't working right but least it was a breeze after I put it all the way down so I can sleep the reason I turned it on to begin with anyways if I want to be in a hot apartment I wouldn't have turned it on ...so instead of finding out the issue and fixing when I asked what the problem was the lady said she didnt know it may be out of freon? And told me I should be OK but if gets to hot to call ... I'm 7 months pregnant...I called emergency maintenance and they told me they not allowed to come out unless the temperature outside is over 76 degrees ..in that case they shpuld habe fixed it when they was here during the day when they realized it was not working which everyone with common sense knows temperature inside and outside is different..plus I have a one year old so I guess I'm supposed to open up the windows and let the bugs and mosquitoes from outside in to get a breeze ...now I have to pack me and my baby and find I somewhere else to stay until its cooler tomorrow which I had things to do around the reason why I pay for my own is to comfortable if I wanted to stay with someone else I would rent a room!!!!

11-02-2018

Was this helpful?
Hello, I am sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience with a maintenance issue. We strive to provide prompt maintenance service to our valued residents. We believe our records indicate your maintenance issue is now resolved, based on the description provided. Should you have future concerns or comments, please do not hesitate to call me at (757) 588-8771. Thank you for your review. -Business Manager

11-09-2018

Amenities

Apartment Features

Air Conditioning
Cable Ready
Dishwasher
Gas Range
Microwave
Some Paid Utilities
Stainless Steel Appliances
Washer & Dryer Connections
Patio
Refrigerator

Special Features

Pets

Community Features

Accepts Electronic Payments
Emergency Maintenance
Extra Storage
High Speed Internet Access
Laundry Facility
Playground
Trail, Bike, Hike, Jog
On Site Maintenance
On Site Management
Pet Friendly

Additional Features

Renovated Homes Available - Come See Our Upgrades!
Picnic Area with Grills
Beautifully Landscaped Grounds
Minutes to Downtown Norfolk, Naval Bases and ODU
RPP Accepted

Pets Policy

Dogs Welcome
Cats Welcome
Pet Friendly
  • Weight restriction: 50lbs
  • Call the Leasing Office for details.

Property Details

Pinewood Gardens Apartments

New and Improved!!! Pinewood Gardens is undergoing a makeover! Our newly renovated apartment homes have been upgraded to include granite counter tops, stunning custom cabinetry, brushed nickel fixtures, double sinks, glass tile back splashes, pass through bars in the kitchen and much more! You'll enjoy our new state-of-the-art fitness center: this spacious exercise facility features free weights and plenty of cardio equipment!

Located in the center of suburban Norfolk, Pinewood Gardens offers beautifully finished one-bedroom, two-bedroom, and three-bedroom floor plans with unique details in each apartment home. If you want to enjoy quality living without a high price tag, then Pinewood Gardens is the choice for you. At Pinewood Gardens, everything is right at your fingertips. We are convenient to downtown Norfolk, the Navy Credit Union, Little Creek Amphibious Base, NOB, NAV Care, the post office, schools and universities, and great shopping. Come home to Pinewood Gardens Apartments and experience the maximum in comfort and convenience. Please call for an appointment today. TTY 711

Lease Terms

Our lease terms are: 6 - 15 months (Please note that leases less than 12 months have an additional $25 monthly premium. Lease terms may vary, are subject to change without notice, and are based on availability. Inquire with property staff for complete details.)
Pet Policy: 50 Pound Weight Limit. Maximum 2 pets per apartment. Restrictions: Call the Leasing Office for details.

Office Hours

Open until 5:00pm

 - 
 - 
 - 
 - 
 - 
 - 
 - 
We want to take the time to find the right home that fits your needs. Walk-ins are always welcome; however, scheduling an appointment ensures that you will have a leasing agent ready to take you on a tour of our wonderful community. Call today!

Schools

Rating 6

Larrymore Elementary School

7600 Halprin Dr, Norfolk, VA 23518
Public
Elementary
PK-5
Rating 3

Azalea Middle School

7721 Azalea Garden Rd, Norfolk, VA 23518
Public
Middle
6-8
Rating 1

Lake Taylor High School

1384 Kempsville Rd, Norfolk, VA 23502
Public
High
9-12
Rating default

St Pius X School

7800 Halprin Dr, Norfolk, VA 23518
Private
Coed
PK-8
Rating default

Calvary Christian School

2331 E Little Crk Rd, Norfolk, VA 23518
Private
Coed
PK-5
All content about schools and school districts is provided by GreatSchools, a third party. Apartment Guide does not create, develop, contribute to, or endorse this content.

Helpful Information

We didn't create the art of living well, we merely perfected it! Since our establishment in 1906, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co. has been developing and managing exceptional apartment communities throughout the Mid-Atlantic. Our goal is to provide the highest quality of affordable and market rate housing, whether through development and construction to managing communities or individual investors. Our communities are committed to providing excellent curb appeal and customer service. From the beautifully landscaped grounds to the blue of the swimming pool, it is apparent that quality is our goal. Our employees work hard to provide our residents with the best apartment home possible in a quiet and peaceful setting. We currently manage 117 communities throughout the southeast. We look forward to having you as a resident at one of our outstanding apartment communities near you!

Contact
Pinewood Gardens Apartments

(757) 849-0355
By submitting this form, you agree to RentPath's